What’s So Bad About Being Different

Dang, look at how old this post is. Better put that under a readmore so your eyes don’t burn from my immaturity. 

I still agree with half of this.

The message I want you to get out of this old post is: 

  • You’re beautiful and different because you’re human. You have your own independent thoughts and style. You shouldn’t change your likes and dislikes to fit trends, or to make friends. If you think a trend is ugly, you don’t have to freaking wear it. Simple as that. There are tons of other cute things you could be wearing instead.
  • Change is only good if it’s for the better.
  • Being ‘different’ doesn’t make you the most unique creature on the planet- Every single person that has walked, and still walks this Earth was/is different. Don’t hate on those ‘other girls’ for liking Twilight or Ke$ha.  Sometimes I want to lay around and read bad fanfiction or play Portal; other times I want to go to the record store with my friends or visit Starbucks with my sister. I can do every single thing I listed and more because I’m human, and can make my own decisions. Amazing, right?
  • There is absolutely nothing wrong with doing what you love.

-Kat, 2/12/14

Let me ask you a question? If the style was wearing a trashcan, Would you wear one even if it looks ridiculous?

If you want to you can put those ugly, chunky fake highlights in your hair. I couldn’t care less. You couldn’t make me if you tried.

I like Artists like Ke$ha and Fefe Dobson. You like Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez.

I like The Hunger Games. You like Twilight.

You call me a freak, and ask what’s wrong with me. I wanna know what’s so bad about being different.

You call yourself popular. I call myself SC.

Go. Go tell the world who you are. If you like My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, go ahead and like it.

If you love to whip your hair, whip it hard. Who cares what other people think?

And if you love music, play it as loud as you can.

I know I’m only Thirteen, but listen to my advice: Don’t change yourself for anyone. You’re you for a reason, you might not appreciate it now, but I promise you will later.

This is to my friend and I hope she’s reading this:
Listen to me girl. Listen hard.
Just because our other friend moved months ago, doesn’t mean you need to change. You have me and I like you for you. Who cares what they say? I love you like a sister and I’d even trade mine for you. So don’t change, don’t change at all.
– SC

3 thoughts on “What’s So Bad About Being Different

  1. You are completely right. Being different is amazing. Who cares what other people think? True…
    But I like both the Hunger Games and Twilight!
    My Little Pony rocks! XD

  2. I love your wording, and your writing is so strong! I hate it when my friends get stuck in a stage where all they care about is acting stupid and being popular and pretty. It’s so frustrating, and even if I were to tell them they’re acting all different, they were just put on their idiot blond face and give an airhead giggle.

  3. Ahhh… Your wiseness!!! I love it! There are many different answers to “What is art?” Depends on who u r.
    BTW i can’t see what I am typing over here… until I highlight it. This textbox/comment boxt whatever people call it is white. and the text i am typing is white. So please excuse my typos. And another random statement is; Silver Coyote is my poptropica’s characters name…I have two accounts, Silver Coyote and Sporty Coyote.

Comments are closed.