Thinking Back

Dang, look at how old this post is. Better put that under a readmore so your eyes don’t burn from my immaturity. -Kat, 2/12/14

I was right about 8th grade. It was more than I hoped it would be, a great year, and a great way to leave Jr. High.

Everyone in my class has been with me since Kindergarten. Pre-School even. And we’re all grown up, now. Big 8th graders.Wow, I can’t believe it.  I’ve got so many memories.

My first few years of school are a blur. I remember meeting my best friend and having little misadventures with her and two other guys who are still in my class. It’s also when I discovered Volleyball.

Second-Third Grade: I had to get glasses and I discovered my love for Greek Mythology. No one else could tell you Myths about olive trees, or thunderstorms. They stuck to their less interesting dinosaur/fairy tale books.

4th-5th Grade: In 4th Grade, I learned that nobody’s perfect. 5th Grade? It was rough. Let’s just say my classmates treated me like crap and avoid talking about it. This was the year I found a scruffy little kitten I named Cookeh.

6th Grade: I started JR. High, and did several Egyptian projects. Small facts like Percents are out of 100 we’re drilled into our heads and were expected to stay there for the rest of our lives. We made oragami animals and reinacted battles between Athens and Sparta on top of the desks. I decided that my Math/History teacher was the most fun.

7th Grade: Oh Gosh… 7th grade, Where do I begin? We took a trip to the Theater and saw West Side Story. The only thing that stuck with us was the line: “Abstinence, Pretend she’s your sister!” At least we learned something, right?

Stupid plays were written, new things were invented, dances were attended, frogs were dissected, The Hunger Games was read and enjoyed on the big screen, Greek Mythology was taught, Poetry was hated, JV Volleyball kicked butt, Comics were drawn, Team Seneca Crane’s Beard was formed, and I found out everyone in my class knows the words to Sexy and I Know it. Most importantly, I realized I had more friends than I thought. This has to be my favorite year. I accomplished so much in it.

I wonder what awaits me in 8th grade.  The only thing I see in my future is graduation, but I’m sure whatever lies in between will be a crazy and beautiful part of my life.

One thought on “Thinking Back

Comments are closed.