SC Talks About: FanFiction[Again]

This post is 4+ years old, and it’s under a readmore for a reason. I apologize for anything that makes you cringe. I’m cringing  thinking about what’s below, and now I’m cringing even more thinking of your (completely deserved) reaction. -8/11/17

A long time ago, like, when I first joined Where Thunder Roars, I made a post ranting talking about my likes/dislikes while exploring FanFiction for the first time. And I had no idea what I was talking about.

Let’s try this again.

Okay, First up: When an OC and a Canon Character [Characters made by the actual author] that’s already taken by another character are so madly in love that whoever the canon character was dating in the original book/game/whatever doesn’t even matter anymore.

Especially when that OC is a Mary Sue…

Otherwise, OCs are fun to make and write with.

Next up: Shipping. Whee.

A whole lotta people ship.

Some people are very protective of their ship(s), and would go down with said ship(s) like it was the Titanic.

If you can think of a pairing, there’s most likely gonna be writing about it. And a handful of it’s probably ‘M’ rated.

Me?

Honestly- I suck at writing romances.
Therefore, feel no need to ship.I just like reading about everyone’s ideas, and enjoy laughing at the stupid parings that some people come up with.

Though I will avoid stories with certain pairings like the plague if I’m absolutely sick of hearing about them. I can name several.

Basically, I’ll try and read it if it interests me. I’m not really picky when it comes to ships.

When a story totally ignores a timeline. Especially when the creator gives you one.

I know theories are super fun, but following the timeline makes things less confusing. ‘Kay? There’s a certain theory from a certain fandom that makes me wanna stab someone in the face with a pencil every time I see it(Which is pretty often).

When a story has no plot…
Somebody’s guilty of this.. *CoughCough*FoxFace*CoughCough*

I even confused myself when writing Reincarnation, because I had no idea what was gonna happen next.

I have the attention span of a goldfish. I get distracted, Okay?

Fluff.

‘Nother thing I’m guilty of. I’ve written stories fluffier than my stuffed panda. What? My friend got it for me…

A little fluff is tolerable, but a whole bunch? Not so much.

I don’t know about you, but if I ate a whole bowl full of nothing but marshmallow fluff- I’d probably feel really dizzy. Or pass out.

Either way, not good. It just takes up space…
~
What I like about FanFiction:
Parodies. I love a good parody. Even when they’re in my most favorite fandom ever, they’re still great.

Anything that makes me laugh.

Alternate Universes are great, too. I even enjoy the classic High School cliches, even though there’s tons out there.

Another favorite AU is the ‘Only a Dream/Delusion’ one. (Crazy, I know.) It puts the book/movie/game/whatever in a whole new perspective. ‘All that crap you went through? Yeah, it was all in your head.’

I just love hearing theories and wondering if people have the same ones I do. If not, I share them.

I love crackships. ‘Nuff said.

I love how the authors aren’t famous- They’re regular people like me. They just love the fandom and wanna share their stories with people who love it, too.

And the one thing I love the most is imagination, creativity, adventure, and originality.

4 thoughts on “SC Talks About: FanFiction[Again]

Comments are closed.