There’s Only Three Days Left in This Semester and I’m Like:

This post is 4+ years old, and it’s under a readmore for a reason. I apologize for anything that makes you cringe. I’m cringing  thinking about what’s below, and now I’m cringing even more thinking of your (completely deserved) reaction. -8/11/17

My sister and I have broken out the Michael Buble Christmas albums and the gingerbread scented candle. There is no turning back now. All I have to do is wrap presents, all while making sure the cat doesn’t eat any leftover ribbon.

I love decorating Christmas cookies, and having several different colored frostings along with weird sprinkles is more exiting to me, a sixteen year old with semi-adult responsibilities, than it was to my five year old self.  I was also directed to this adorable little Portal themed comic.

I’ve finished my Christmas concerts, I’m ready to do special traditions without having to worry about grades. Which reset at the start of a new semester, much to the relief of the 50% of the school that happen to be failing. I get to make geometric ornaments in AP Geometry, and learn traditional holiday recipes in Spanish II. In high school, semester exams aren’t mandatory for everyone. Unless you’re failing, or have a certain amount of absences, you’re free. Of course, you can still take them by choice if you’d prefer a higher grade than the one you have.

Since none of my friends have to take semesters either, this usually means that, while everyone else crams for their lives, we’re in the back singing Christmas songs. I’m not joking, we got in trouble for singing Last Christmas during “study time”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

