Beach “Essentials”?

It’s pretty difficult to find saltwater beaches in the Midwest, but by the time you’re reading this, I’ll already be out on the lake. 

Watching several YouTube videos, I’ve realized that so many beauty gurus bring way too many “essentials” to the beach with them. Do you really need to bring your stereo, along with half your vinyl records?

…Try iTunes and some headphones.

Some things should stay at home where they belong.

large (5)

  • You don’t want to wear a ton of makeup. Besides, you’re probably at the beach to be in the water. Ditch your regular routine, and wear some sunscreen on your face instead. Get some that is specifically designed for smearing on your face because it’s not as greasy, and doesn’t cause as many breakouts. I also wear chapstick with a little bit of SPF in it.
  • If you want to wear makeup, wear a small amount. Concealer and waterproof mascara should be fine. Everyone is going to be concentrating on how nice you look in a swimsuit, anyway. Nobody’ll know you look like a baby raccoon underneath your sunglasses.
  • Don’t neglect your sunscreen. I don’t care how dark or light your skin tone is, wearing it is still important.
  • “I brought my entire makeup collection, along with my vanity so I could have a place to put it on.” Pack lightly, dang it. 90% of what you bring has to go back in your beach bag when you’re finished. Also, you’re going to have to carry whatever you take around until you find a place to put it. Unless you can find someone who is willing to be a pack mule.

…Good luck with that.

What are my “essentials”?

  • Towel. Pretty self-explanatory.
  • Sunscreen. One for my face because I have nasty teenage skin, and another for the rest of my body. *
  • Ponybands. Elastics. Whatever you call them, my hair is long and thick, and has a habit of getting in the way. *
  • Hairbrush. Just a little thing that detangles hair. It’s a cheaper version of this.
  • Plastic bag/waterproof case. I really don’t want to lose my phone to the lake.
  • Cover up. Usually this is just shorts and a tank top. If you want to eat at a restaurant ashore, chances are they’re not letting you in wearing solely a bikini.
  • Sunglasses. I enjoy retro styles. The more they look like John Lennon glasses, the better.
  • Floppy hat. Your scalp will burn, and you will not be brushing your hair for days. It also keeps the sun off your face and neck.
  • Water/a snack. It’s good to keep hydrated, and I just enjoy blackberries, okay?
  • Camera, with an extra memory card and batteries. Got it for 50 cents at a garage sale, and it is of a much better quality than the price. This isn’t really necessary, but photography, though I kind of suck, is a hobby of mine.

* My sister and I share these, if you were curious. We share bag space, like we’re used to. Replace camera with a book, and you have everything she brings as well.

Chances are, you’re not a beauty guru. Even if you are, I don’t expect you to go to the beach looking like you’re ready for a photoshoot.

I wish my hair looked that great after meeting the lake. Instead, I look like a girl from one of those exorcism movies.

You’re there to have fun, not to have people scout you out for modelling. If a photographer does find you, impress them with your raw beauty.

