Thinking Back Part II

Before I entered 8th grade, I made a post called “Thinking Back“, where I reminisced on my schooling experience up to 7th grade. Going into my Senior year of High School, I thought I’d continue where I left off.

A lot of people have been in my classes since Freshman year. Some go as far back as Kindergarten, and even PreSchool. I thought we were grown up entering 8th grade, but look at us now: One more year of High School, and we’re ready to start taking on the world as adults. I’ve got so many more memories since the last post.

8th grade: What a way to leave Jr. High. My class was so close, and we did everything together. I learned how to ski as part of my class trip, and we all went to Springfield. I got to be a part in the school’s first year of Honor Band, and I got a perfect score at the state level of Solo and Ensemble. I also made 100% of my volleyball serves over the net. My favorite memory was graduation, of course. I still remember the feeling I had when I walked across the stage to get my diploma, and walked out of the building a Freshman in High School.

Freshman year: I remember feeling so sick my first day of school. I was so anxious, and looking back, it seems so ridiculous. I learned how to play guitar, and I marched in a parade for the first time. I was reluctant to go to Homecoming, but I ended up loving the experience. I also started my run in the plays as stage crew. I met many new people, and a majority of them still have classes with me. This was also the year my Honors Algebra I teacher got arrested. I won’t go into detail, but we still make jokes about it. The summer after, I lost Cookeh, and I still miss her very much.

Sophomore year: Early in the year, I was able to ditch my glasses and start wearing contacts in their place. I also started learning more about makeup, and slowly started leaving my awkward phase. (Sadly, I still haven’t left completely.) However, I had a horrible experience, and nothing seemed to go my way. The musical was torture, partially because the teacher running it was horrible to every student involved in the production, and I kept failing my driver’s license test because the teacher I had sucked. Long story short, I was thankful that it was over, and that I managed to spare my own life.

Junior year: Things started looking up from the year before. This year was full of testing, and I took 3 huge tests not including my semester exams, all in the span of a month. I never want to see a standardized test again. I had a great time in all of my AP classes, and finally started to earn dual credit. I learned how to make my own clothes, and became section leader in the band. I actually got a small speaking part in the play. I had to fight for it like usual, but I had such a good time with the cast (as always), and we got so many compliments at the end of every night. My horrible band director got fired at the end of the year, and we got a wonderful new one over the summer.

We wrote ridiculous scripts and funny presentations, and many inside jokes were formed. A lot of people think High School is full of cliques that never interact with each other. Even though this is partially true, everyone comes together and helps out when it’s needed. I dropped my stupid “Not like other girls” attitude I had when I started this blog, and I started being around different types of people. No “clique” I’ve been around has failed to show me a good time. Not in that sense…

I’m excited for my Senior year. While High School hasn’t treated me too well, I have a feeling this will be my year. I only have a vague idea of what is going to happen, but when graduation comes around, I know I’ll walk across the stage proud of my achievements. I just hope I don’t trip on the way up.

Talk That Talk

